Hey hey!

An ode to felafel

What is this fine food, that puts me in the mood?

Thats round like a ball, but not one at all?

Its soft and it crunches, is perfect for lunches

Goes well in a wrap, add hommus to that

Is the perfect meal, and the price is a steal

Made from chickpeas, makes me weak at the knees

It can be gourmet, or just take away

In oil its deep fried, to make it I’ve tried

Tonight was the batch, that’ll be hard to match

Mixed with salsa and cheese, we all say yes please

This middle eastern fare, is beyond compare

It’s never a hassle, fuck I love felafel…

Ok so maybe the last line didn’t rhyme so well but you get the point. If you hadn’t gathered from my amazing rhyming couplets I made felafel tonight and they were friggin heaps good. So here’s my photo essay of the felafel just to make you slightly jealous of my mad felafel making and eating skills…

Image

Crispy fried goodness, to the max!

Image

Felafel mix consists of: chickpeas, coriander stems and root, red onion, mint, garlic, chilli, cumin, salt, chickpea flour.

I soaked and boiled chickpeas, then whizzed up the rest of ingredients except for flour in food processor. Then chucked in the chickpeas and whizzed it a bit more til they were a nice chunky but fairly fine consistency.

I transferred to a bowl then mixed in about half a cup of chickpea flour to bind it all together. Form it into balls and fry it in about a centimetre of oil til they be golden all over. I use groundnut oil which looks and smells a lot like peanut oil but apparently isn’t…

Image

This is the large amount of hummus (and glass of wine) that I made to go with it…

Image

And this is the large amount of salsa I also made to go in my wrap…

Image

The finished product on a wrap with fried eggplant, salsa, hummus and soon to be added goats cheese… My goodness it was amazing. And I am going to eat it tomorrow for lunch too! MWAHAHAHAHAH!!!

Ok well I would like to make a felafel based pun right now but its proving quite difficult. So feel free to smash a couple into the comments section if you can think of them.

